FAQ

  • About Us
    • What is Tillamook County Creamery Association (TCCA)?

      TCCA is a farmer-owned co-op from (you guessed it!) Tillamook, Oregon. For more than100 years, we have been committed to producing the delicious, high-quality dairy products our fans know and love. We believe that everyone should have access to real food with simple ingredients. That’s why we work hard every day to make premium products with high standards. That’s Dairy Done Right.

    • How many farmer-owners do you have?

      As a cooperative, the Tillamook County Creamery Association (TCCA) is made up of nearly 100 farmer-owners. Many of these families have been farming in Tillamook County for multiple generations. Here at Tillamook, dairy farming isn’t just a job, it is a way of life! If you want to learn more about our farmers and what dairy farming is like, visit “Our Farmer Owners.”

    • How long has Tillamook been a company?

      Tillamook County Creamery Association was formed more than a century ago, in 1909! Interested in learning more about how TCCA was formed? Check out Our History!

    • What kind of products does Tillamook make?

      We make dairy products in 5 categories: Cheese, Ice Cream, Yogurt, Sour Cream and Butter. You can find descriptions, nutrition facts and ingredients for of all of our products here.

  • Allergens
    • Does Tillamook Ice Cream contain any major allergens?

      Yes. All Tillamook Ice Cream flavors contain milk, most contain pasteurized egg yolks and some contain other major allergens like wheat, tree nuts, peanuts or soy. In compliance with federal law, any Tillamook product that contains major allergens (milk, egg, crustacean shellfish, fish, wheat, tree nuts, peanuts, or soy) clearly states so in the ingredients listing, so please be sure to check the label!Please note that all of our ice cream flavors are produced with the same equipment. Production schedules are carefully prepared by considering allergens and their potential risks. Equipment is thoroughly sanitized after producing ice cream flavors that contain nuts or other major allergens.

      Staff at the ice cream counter at our Creamery in Tillamook would be happy to use a fresh ice cream scoop to accommodate visitors with allergen concerns, so please let us know! A full list of Tillamook Ice Cream ingredients is available at the Tillamook Creamery and also listed online for each ice cream flavor.

    • Does your cheese contain lactose?

      That depends on the cheese. Tillamook’s cheddar cheeses contain virtually no lactose. The vast majority of lactose in the milk is in the liquid whey, which is drained and removed during our cheddaring process. The cultures we add to our milk at the beginning of the cheesemaking process break down the leftover lactose into lactic acid. Many lactose intolerant people are still able to eat our natural cheddar cheeses because (thanks to our natural and time-honored cheesemaking process!) they contain virtually no lactose. However, soft cheeses like Colby Jack or Monterey Jack are stirred curd cheeses, which means that they contain more lactose because they are made differently than our cheddars.

      That being said, we don’t want to encourage you to eat anything your doctor has suggested you avoid! If you’re lactose intolerant and wondering if you can eat Tillamook Cheese, it’s best to talk to your doctor. At the very least, we hope you can enjoy a little nibble!

    • I’m lactose intolerant. Do you have a yogurt I can eat?

      Good news! While we do not make any lactose-free products, Tillamook Greek Yogurt contains very little lactose. The traditional Greek straining process strains off most of the liquid whey in the yogurt, which also removes most of the lactose. Additionally, the live and active cultures found in our Greek yogurt make it easier for your body to digest lactose.

      That being said, we don’t want to encourage you to eat anything your doctor has suggested you avoid! If you’re lactose intolerant and wondering if you can eat Tillamook Yogurt, it’s best to talk to your doctor.

    • Do any of your dairy products contain gluten?

      Just a few of our products contain gluten. All of our cheese, yogurt, sour cream and butter products are gluten-free (hooray!).

      Most Tillamook Ice Cream is gluten-free, too. However, flavors that include ingredients like pie, cookie dough or cake are not gluten-free Please be sure to check the “Allergens” section on each product page AND the “Allergens” section on the label of the container.

      None of our Ice Cream Sandwiches are gluten-free due to the waffle cookie used in the sandwich, but all of our Ice Cream Bars are gluten-free.

  • Tillamook Creamery
    • General Information
      • When is the Tillamook Creamery open?

        The Tillamook Creamery in Tillamook, OR is open every day of the year, except Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. We hope you can come visit us!

        Summer Hours (mid-June to Labor Day): 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
        Fall/Winter/Spring Hours (Labor Day to mid-June): 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

      • Can I tour the Tillamook Creamery?

        We welcome visitors year-round at our Creamery in Tillamook, where you can get a special bird’s-eye view of our cheesemaking and packaging rooms and learn about the history of Tillamook and our products through interactive and educational exhibits, videos and more. Creamery tours are free and self-guided. You can start whenever you like, grab a lick of ice cream when the mood strikes, and set your own pace as you learn about our more than 100-year tradition.

        Due to health and safety regulations, we’re no longer allowed to give public tours inside the actual manufacturing and processing area of the plant. Thanks for understanding!

      • Can I bring my pet on the tour of the Tillamook Creamery?

        Due to health and safety regulations, pets are not allowed inside the Creamery. You may bring a service animal on the tour. However, pets are more than welcome in the outside seating area and parking lot!

      • Where can I buy Tillamook Cheese Curds?

        Tillamook Cheddar Cheese Curds are exclusively sold at the Tillamook Creamery and our online store. Tillamook Cheese Curds aren’t available in grocery stores because they lose their freshness quickly. Come visit us at the Creamery and try some samples, or visit our Online Shop to have them shipped fresh from our factory directly to your home!

      • What’s the address for the Tillamook Creamery?

        The Tillamook Creamery is located on the Oregon Coast!

        Address
        4165 Highway 101 North
        Tillamook, OR 97141

      • Is the Tillamook Creamery wheelchair accessible?

        Yes! The Tillamook Creamery is wheelchair accessible. We also have wheelchairs available to rent on a first-come, first-served basis.

    • The Remodel
      • Why did you rebuild your facility in Tillamook?

        The old building for visitors in Tillamook was more than 60 years old. It held a lot of memories for us, but we are excited to have a brand new space that is bigger, more interactive, and has more unique features for our guests to enjoy. The new facility also includes much-needed “back of house” upgrades to help the Creamery run more smoothly.

      • What changes were made at the new Tillamook Creamery?

        Some of the new features include:

        • A larger dining area with more indoor seating and a spacious outdoor covered patio for visitors to enjoy year-round.

        • A new menu, showcasing Tillamook products and other high quality, wholesome real food ingredients, including wood fire pizzas, Tillamook’s favorite grilled cheese sandwiches and much more. The new menu will also feature wine and beer from the Pacific Northwest.

        • An expanded Tillamook Ice Cream counter, available for indoor and seasonal outdoor service.

        • A new coffee and yogurt bar where visitors can purchase coffee and espresso drinks and customize their favorite Tillamook Yogurt with a variety of toppings.

        • A large retail space featuring Tillamook products and high-quality gifts and souvenirs available for purchase all in one, easy-to-shop area.

        • An enhanced viewing experience of Tillamook’s cheese production and packaging operations with better acoustics and exhibit signage, as well as a small theater space where visitors can view short videos about how Tillamook products are made.

        • An in-depth farm exhibit where visitors can learn about cows, dairy technology and life on the farm.

        • More samples than ever before!

      • Who designed the new Tillamook Creamery?

        Award-winning, Seattle-based architecture firm Olson Kundig has designed our new Tillamook Creamery. Olson Kundig has designed numerous museums, exhibits, and visitors centers, as well as breweries, wineries and restaurants.

    • Food Options at the Tillamook Creamery
      • Do you offer food at the Tillamook Creamery?

        Yes! Our Food Hall has breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as an ice cream counter, a yogurt and espresso bar, and plenty of free cheese samples! You can find our Food Hall menu here and our ice cream menu here.

      • What are the hours of operation for the food?

        Our food options are served during the following hours:

        Breakfast: 8am-10am

        Lunch/Dinner: 11am-close

        Ice Cream Counter: All day!

        Espresso and Yogurt Bar: All day!

        Free Cheese Samples: While supplies last!

      • Do you offer separate meal preparation for those with allergies?

        Absolutely. We offer gluten-free bread and are happy to prepare your meal separately on our allergen-free grill with fresh utensils at your request. At our ice cream counter, feel free to ask our staff to use a fresh scoop and/or open a new carton of ice cream for your sweet treat. Your safety is our top priority!

      • Does Tillamook make any dairy-free ice creams?

        Here at Tillamook, we do not make any dairy-free products. However, we do offer a fruit sorbet option at our ice cream counter at the Tillamook Creamery so that everyone can enjoy a delicious dessert! You can find our ice cream menu here.

  • On the Farm
    • Do your dairy products contain artificial growth hormones?

      No, they don’t - thanks for asking! All Tillamook dairy products — cheese, butter, ice cream, sour cream and yogurt — are made with milk from cows not treated with artificial growth hormones.*

      *Please note that the FDA has stated that no significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rBST treated and non-rBST treated cows

    • Are any of your products certified organic?

      At this time, we don’t offer certified organic products. We are, however, committed to making the highest quality dairy products in the most natural way possible. The milk used to make Tillamook products far exceeds state and federal quality standards and comes from cows that are not treated with artificial growth hormones.* For more information on how Tillamook cows are cared for, continue reading On the Farm FAQs.

      *Please note that the FDA has stated that no significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rBST treated and non-rBST treated cows.

    • Are Tillamook dairy cows ever treated with antibiotics?

      Our dairy cows are not systematically given antibiotics. But, like humans, cows sometimes get sick and need veterinarian-prescribed antibiotics to help them get better. However, if a cow is receiving antibiotics, her milk isn’t used until tests prove that the antibiotics have cleared her system completely. As an additional precaution, every milk delivery we receive is thoroughly tested for antibiotics. If even a trace amount of antibiotics are detected in a delivery, it is disposed of and we won’t use that milk to make our dairy products.

    • Are the cows in barns or pastures?

      It depends on the time of year and on the farm. Many of our farmer-owners in Tillamook send their herds out to pasture when the weather permits (typically March through November), but practices vary depending on each farm’s herd, land and management style. Many of our farmers also use free-stall barns to keep their cows comfortable and protected. Free-stall barns are standard in the dairy industry to accommodate climate conditions and are used on dairies owned by our farmer-owners, as well as our contract milk suppliers. In the free-stall barns, cows get daylight and fresh air, have plenty of space to eat and exercise, and they sleep on clean, dry bedding.

    • What do the cows eat?

      Our farmers know that happy, healthy cows make quality, wholesome milk. Proper animal care practices like providing a healthy diet benefits the farmer, cow, and ultimately you, the consumer. At each farm, an animal nutritionist helps the farmer customize a healthy diet of forages and grains for their cows that meets their requirements for health and milk production. The forage portion of a cow’s food is slightly different on each farm, but usually includes grass, alfalfa and likely some corn silage. The grain portion is a mixture of grains, including corn and barley. Cows are also given a vitamin/mineral supplement to support long-term health. Our dairy farmers all have a commitment to quality, and that means taking good care of their cows and the land, because not only is it their livelihood, but it is also the right thing to do.

    • Are all your farms based in Tillamook, OR?

      Nope! After more than 100 years and growing consumer demand for our products, we’re making more products than ever before right where it all began, and that’s in Tillamook County. But, while there’s no limit to the ingenuity, hard work and commitment of Tillamook County’s people, there is a limit to its natural resources. It’s an environmentally sensitive area and natural resources are constrained. That’s why we choose to partner with many farms of many different sizes to source the high-quality milk we use in our products. While a large dairy farm may not look the same as a much smaller one, we can assure you that every farm we work with is held to the same strict quality and animal care standards that our farmer-owners adhere to in Tillamook County. Growing our brand through strong partnerships is the way we’ve been able to sustain our farmer-owners and the farming way of life in Tillamook County for generations to come.

  • Products
    • Cheese
      • Where can I find your cheese?

        Tillamook Cheese is available at a variety of stores throughout the U.S. Currently, the full product line is most commonly found in the Pacific Northwest. To look for Tillamook Cheese and other products in your area, please visit Where to Buy. Because we sell our cheese to grocery stores through distributors, it’s sometimes difficult for us to know exactly which type of Tillamook Cheese is currently stocked in a specific store. If you’re looking for a particular flavor of cheese, we recommend that you call a store to check on their cheese inventory. You can also purchase most of our cheeses and cheese curds from our online store.

        If you would like to be able to purchase Tillamook products at a store that doesn’t currently carry them, we recommend speaking to the store manager and requesting our products. Please feel free to use our Product Request Template, which you can fill in, print out, and hand directly to a store manager.

      • Why isn’t your cheese available in my area?

        We would love for Tillamook Cheese to be available in every city in every state! Unfortunately, the decision about what products are carried in what stores is decided through a partnership between Tillamook and our grocery retailers. The best way to get our products in your grocery store is to ask your store manager to carry them. Please feel free to use our Product Request Template, which you can fill in, print out, and hand directly to a store manager

      • Can I order cheese from you?

        Definitely! You can order our cheese from our Online Store or by placing a phone order with one of our wonderful team members at our Cheese Factory. To order over the phone, please call 800-542-7290.

      • Why is the price of Tillamook Cheese different at every store?

        Grocery stores set the prices on products they sell. Tillamook doesn’t decide the selling price of our products in different stores. Prices vary depending on shipping costs, demand and location.

      • Where can I buy Tillamook Cheese Curds?

        Tillamook Cheese Curds are exclusively sold at the Tillamook Creamery and our online store.Tillamook Cheese Curds aren’t available in grocery stores because they lose their freshness quickly. Come visit us at the Tillamook Creamery and try some samples, or visit our Online Shop to have them shipped fresh from our factory directly to your home!

      • What’s the best way to store my cheese?

        All Tillamook Cheese should be stored in the fridge. To prolong the life of your loaf, follow these tips:

        •    Keep your cheese in its original package.
        •    Wash your hands before handling.
        •    Avoid touching the cheese that you plan on putting back in the fridge.
        •    When slicing your loaf, pull the wrapper back and cut off the desired amount of cheese.
        •    Tightly fold the original wrapper back over the end.
        •    Press foil or plastic wrap over the end of your cheese and place it in an airtight, sealed plastic bag or airtight container.
        •    Place your cheese in the coldest section of the fridge (less than 40 degrees Fahrenheit).

        To help prevent mold from developing on sliced and shredded cheese, follow these tips:

        •    Keep your cheese in its original package.
        •    Wash your hands before handling.
        •    Avoid touching the cheese that you plan on putting back in the fridge.
        •    Don’t put your hand directly in the bag of shredded cheese; remove with a clean utensil, or pour the cheese out of the bag.
        •    For 5-pound bags of shredded cheese, separate and store the cheese in several smaller resealable bags.
        •    Use within 3-5 days after opening (in other words, enjoy often!)

      • Do I have to store my cheese in the fridge?

        Yes. Just like the milk it’s made from, Tillamook Cheese is a perishable dairy product and should always be stored in the fridge (ideally in the coldest part, around 40 degrees). You can take cheese out of the fridge up to an hour before you plan on using it, but it should be put back in the fridge immediately after you’re done. If you’re in a warm environment, cheese shouldn’t be left out for too long – the heat will change the texture and oil may develop on the outside of the cheese.

      • Can I freeze cheese?

        (Hey, that rhymes!) Freezing Tillamook Cheese prolongs its life, but it also changes the texture of the cheese, making it dry and crumbly. Although freezing slows mold growth, it also stops the aging process of cheddar. Ideally, you should freeze the cheese in its original, unopened package. If you’ve already opened the package, wrap one pound or smaller portions in moisture-proof materials (like plastic wrap or aluminum foil) and then place it in an airtight bag. That way, you can maintain optimum flavor and texture. When you’re ready, thaw the cheese in the refrigerator with the wrapper on to prevent loss of moisture and flavor. Then eat it as soon as possible. Thawed cheese will shred easily, but it’s difficult to slice. Iif you plan on slicing the cheese, it’s best to do so before putting it in the freezer.

      • Can I ship your cheese?

        Tillamook Cheese is a perishable product that requires constant refrigeration. Although our little loafs would love to travel the world and experience exotic places, we don’t recommend that you ship our cheese very far. If you do decide to ship it, we recommend that you include one gel ice pack for every 2lbs of cheese and send it using no longer than USPS 2nd day mail. If you’d like to ship cheese overseas, we suggest using an insulated package, and surrounding the cheese with several gel ice packs. Make sure to check with the customs department of the country you’re shipping to for any restrictions they may have on sending food items into their country.

      • What’s the best way to travel with your cheese?

        Keep cheese in its original wrapper and place it in the coolest, darkest area possible. This is likely your checked suitcase if you’re flying. If you’re driving, this is not your trunk. For travel times longer than one day, an ice cooler is your best bet. When you arrive at your destination, refrigerate the cheese as soon as possible. Because of airport security restrictions, it’s a good idea to check with the airport before packing any cheese in your suitcase. It would be a terrible cheese-less tragedy if you had to leave your loaf with security!

      • Is the milk used to make your cheese pasteurized?

        Some of our cheeses are made from pasteurized milk and some are made from heat-shocked milk. Heat-shocked milk is heated to 152 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 seconds. Pasteurized milk is heated to 161 Fahrenheit for 15 seconds. Most Tillamook Cheddars are made from heat-shocked milk. The heat-shocking process helps retain the natural enzymes in our milk that are essential for producing quality cheddar cheese and creating that unique flavor of Tillamook Cheddar. Heat-shocking still kills any harmful bacteria. Because we use the heat shocking process instead of pasteurization for some of our cheddars, we always age our cheddar cheeses for a minimum of 60 days, which ensures it is completely safe to eat.

        The following Tillamook Cheeses are made from heat-shocked milk: Medium Cheddar, Sharp Cheddar, Special Reserve Extra Sharp Cheddar, Vintage White Medium Cheddar, Vintage White Extra Sharp Cheddar, and Swiss.

        The following Tillamook Cheese are made from pasteurized milk: Tillamook Garlic White Cheddar, Garlic Chili Pepper Cheddar, Smoked Black Pepper White Cheddar, Hot Habanero Jack, Monterey Jack, Colby, Colby Jack, Pepper Jack, Reduced Fat Medium Cheddar, Reduced Fat Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Baby Swiss, Muenster and Provolone.

      • What are the ingredients in your Cheddar Cheese?

        Tillamook has been using the same cheddar cheese recipe for over 100 years (why mess with a good thing?). Our Tillamook Cheddar Cheese recipe contains four natural ingredients: cultured milk, enzymes (rennet), salt, and annatto. Annatto is a natural coloring extracted from the seeds of annatto trees grown in the tropics; it is responsible for that beautiful Tillamook yellow color! Tillamook white cheddars only contain three ingredients, as they don’t need the annatto.

      • How long do you age your cheddar cheeses? What makes them “sharp”?

        Tillamook Cheddar Cheeses develop their flavors through the natural process of aging. The longer they age, the “sharper” and more flavorful they become.

        Tillamook Cheddars are naturally aged in 40-pound blocks for a minimum of:

        Medium Cheddar – 60 days
        Sharp Cheddar– 9 months
        Extra Sharp Cheddar – 15 months
        Vintage Extra Sharp White Cheddar – 2- 5 years, depending on the product

        Though we always recommend eating Tillamook products by the best by date printed on the package, the aging process of Tillamook cheddar cheese continues even after you’ve brought your cheese home. Be sure to keep it in the coldest part of your refrigerator until you are ready to enjoy it.

      • What is rennet? What types of rennet do you use to make your cheese?

        Rennet is an enzyme that helps coagulate the milk during the cheesemaking process. For the majority of our cheeses, we use a fermentation-produced rennet that has Kosher and Halal certification and is vegetarian-friendly. This rennet is used to make all of the following varieties of Tillamook cheese: Medium, Sharp, Special Reserve Extra Sharp, Kosher, and Reduced Fat Cheddar cheeses, as well as Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Colby, Colby-Jack, Pepper-Jack, Provolone, Muenster, Swiss and Reduced Fat Monterey.

        For a few of our aged white cheddar cheeses (Tillamook Medium White Cheddar, Sharp White, Vintage Extra Sharp White Cheddar, 3 Year Aged Vintage Extra Sharp White, and Smoked Vintage White Extra Sharp), we have historically used a traditional, bovine rennet that was not considered vegetarian. However, we have recently transitioned to exclusively use the fermentation-produced, vegetarian-friendly rennet. Please note that while we have already begun making our aged white cheddars with the veggie-friendly rennet, these cheeses are naturally aged anywhere from 60 days to 3 years, so depending on the cheese, it will take some time for the new white cheddar to reach stores. Be sure to look for our call out, “contains no animal rennet” on the packaging to know if it is made with vegetarian rennet.

      • Is Tillamook Cheese vegetarian-friendly?

        All Tillamook Cheese is now made with vegetarian-friendly ingredients but if you’re vegetarian we suggest avoiding our extra sharp white cheddars.

        The majority of our cheese does not contain animal products. Our vegetarian cheeses use a fermentation-produced rennet that has Kosher and Halal certification, and is vegetarian-friendly. This rennet is used to make all of the following varieties of Tillamook Cheese: Medium, Sharp, Special Reserve Extra Sharp, Kosher, and Reduced Fat Cheddar cheeses, as well as Monterey Jack, Mozzarella, Colby, Colby-Jack, Pepper-Jack, Provolone, Muenster, Swiss and Reduced Fat Monterey.

        For a few of our aged white cheddar cheeses (2 – 5 year Aged Vintage Extra Sharp White Cheddar), we have historically used a traditional, bovine rennet that was not considered vegetarian. However, we have recently transitioned to exclusively use the fermentation-produced, vegetarian-friendly rennet. Please note that while we have already begun making our aged white cheddars with the veggie-friendly rennet, these cheeses are naturally aged anywhere from 2-5 years, so depending on the cheese, it will take some time for the new white cheddar to reach stores. Be sure to look for our call out, “contains no animal rennet” on the packaging to know if it is made with vegetarian rennet.

      • Do you make a kosher cheese?

        We sure do! Our Kosher Medium Cheddar Cheese has the same delicious, award-winning taste and ingredients as our traditional Medium Cheddar Cheese, but it’s produced and packaged under official rabbinical guidance. Like our traditional Medium Cheddar, our Kosher Medium Cheddaris made with a fermentation-produced rennet that has Kosher and Halal certification and is vegetarian-friendly.

      • What makes some of your cheeses a yellow color?

        The exciting answer: cheesy magic! The less-exciting truth: annatto, a natural, plant-based food coloring extracted from the seeds of tropical annatto trees. Without annatto, cheese is the color of milk. Coloring has been added to cheddar cheese for centuries to regulate color variations in milk that can come from seasonal changes in the cow’s diet. These days, annatto helps ensure that each loaf of Tillamook cheese is the same color that our fans have come to expect.

        If you prefer a cheese that does not contain annatto, we also produce several white cheddar cheeses, too! Annatto does not affect the flavor of the cheese.

      • Does your cheese contain lactose?

        That depends on the cheese. Tillamook cheddar cheeses contain virtually no lactose. The vast majority of lactose the milk isin the liquid whey, which is drained and removed during our cheddaring process. The cultures we add to our milk at the beginning of the cheesemaking process break down the leftover lactose into lactic acid. Many lactose intolerant people are still able to eat our natural cheddar cheeses because (thanks to our natural and time-honored cheesemaking process!) they contain virtually no lactose. However, soft cheeses like Colby Jack or Monterey Jack are stirred curd cheeses and contain more lactose because they are made differently than our cheddars.

        That being said, we don’t want to encourage you to eat anything your doctor has suggested you avoid! If you’re lactose intolerant and wondering if you can eat Tillamook Cheese, it’s best to talk to your doctor. At the very least, we hope you can enjoy a little nibble!

      • Does your cheese contain gluten?

        Good news! All Tillamook Cheese products (including our shredded cheeses and Sauce Starters) are gluten-free.

      • What are these crunchy white specks in my cheese?

        No need to worry - these tiny white specks are actually a good thing. They’re most likely calcium lactate crystals, also known as “cheese crystals”. They are completely safe to eat, and usually signify that a cheese is flavorful and well-aged. Calcium lactate crystals form naturally during the aging process and are most commonly found in aged cheddars, including Smoked Medium Cheddar.

      • What is this white substance on the outside of my cheese?

        It’s likely that the white substance on your cheese is calcium lactate. Calcium lactate is quite common in aged cheese, as it forms during the natural aging process. When you see calcium lactate in cheese, it usually means you’ve found a well-aged and flavorful loaf. The calcium lactate often looks like a white, film-like coating and is completely safe to eat.

      • Why is there an extra slice of cheese added to my loaf?

        Every loaf of Tillamook Cheese is cut from a 40-pound block of cheese. After being cut from this original block, each loaf is weighed to make sure it fits in its appropriate loaf size category (an 8-ounce, 10-ounce, 1-pound, 2-pound, 2.5 pound, or 5-pound loaf). If a loaf is overweight, cheese is sliced off. If a loaf is underweight, a slice of cheese is added to increase its weight – this is the “extra” slice that you found in your loaf. Usually this extra slice adheres back to the loaf over time, but occasionally it is still visible when the cheese is purchased.

      • Can I eat my cheese past the best by date?

        It depends on the type of cheese. Cheese is a perishable dairy product, so if it isn’t stored properly, it will mold. Though we always suggest using Tillamook products by the best by date printed on the packaged, our naturally-aged cheddar cheesewill continue to age and sharpen in your fridge if stored properly. It must be stored in an unopened package in the coldest part of your refrigerator (below 40 degrees Fahrenheit). Once opened however, cheddar should generally keep for a few months. Be sure to check for mold, odor, a slimy texture, or sour flavor before digging in. It’s always better to be safe than sorry!

        Stirred curd cheeses (also known as granular cheeses), such as Tillamook Monterey Jack, Colby, Colby Jack, Pepper Jack and Hot Habanero Jack, don’t age well because they’re higher in moisture. If stored properly, they should keep up to their code date, but shouldn’t be eaten after the code date has passed.

      • Why is my cheese moldy? Should I throw it out?

        Exposure to air causes cheese to mold. If you see mold on your loaf of cheese, don’t worry. Most molds are harmless - all you have to do is cut it off. Cut away at least a half inch of cheese on all sides of the visible mold. We recommend keeping your knife out of the mold spots as you are cutting. The remaining mold-free part of your cheese should be fine to eat, but it’s best to use it up as quickly as possible.

        We do not recommend eating your sliced or shredded cheese if any of it is moldy. It’s best to use your sliced and shredded cheeses within 3-5 days of opening to prevent mold contamination.

      • What’s the liquid on the outside of my cheese?

        No need to worry – the liquid on the outside of your cheese is just excess moisture, or liquid whey. Wipe off your cheese with a napkin or paper towel and enjoy! It’s common for naturally-aged cheeses to develop a small amount of moisture inside their packaging.

    • Butter
      • Can I leave butter on the counter?

        It’s best to store butter in the fridge. We don’t recommend that you leave it out at room temperature for long periods of time since it can mold or take on a rancid flavor. We do recommend letting it sit out about an hour before use. Then cover the butter and store it back in the refrigerator when you’re done.

      • Can I freeze my Tillamook Butter?

        You sure can! Tillamook Butter can be frozen for up to four months. The texture and flavor may change slightly, but not noticeably. We suggest storing butter in its original packaging and in a sealed freezer bag. Defrost it slowly in the fridge before use. We do not recommend melting frozen butter in the microwave without first thawing.

    • Ice Cream
      • Where can I find your ice cream?

        We’ve got great news! Tillamook Ice Cream is now available in 24 states including, Oregon, Washington, Alaska, California, Nevada, Arizona, Utah, New Mexico, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, Texas, Ohio, Michigan, Kansas, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, North Carolina, Illinois, and some parts of western Louisiana! We believe that everyone should get to experience the magic that is Tillamook Ice Cream, and we are certainly excited about expanding our distribution. Please use our Where to Buy tool to find Tillamook Ice Cream in stores near you.

      • Why can’t I find Tillamook Ice Cream in my area?

        We believe that the amount of Tillamook Ice Cream in one’s freezer directly affects the harmony of their household. That being said, we’d love to make more happy homes by expanding our ice cream distribution to more states. Let your store manager know you’d like to be able to purchase Tillamook Ice Cream in your area by filling out our Product Request Form. We hope to one day put our ice creamy dreamy goodness in more families’ freezers throughout the U.S.! In the meantime, come visit us at the Tillamook Creamery to try all of our flavors!

      • Does Tillamook Ice Cream contain any major allergens?

        Yes. All Tillamook Ice Cream flavors contain milk, most contain pasteurized egg yolks and some contain other major allergens like wheat, tree nuts, peanuts or soy. In compliance with federal law, any Tillamook product that contains major allergens (milk, egg, crustacean shellfish, fish, wheat, tree nuts, peanuts, or soy) clearly states so in the ingredients listing, so please be sure to check the label!

        Please note that all of our ice cream flavors are produced with the same equipment. Production schedules are carefully prepared by considering allergens and their potential risks. Equipment is thoroughly sanitized after producing ice cream flavors that contain nuts or other major allergens.

        Staff at the ice cream counter at our Creamery in Tillamook would be happy to use a fresh ice cream scoop to accommodate visitors with allergen concerns, so please let us know. A full list of Tillamook Ice Cream ingredients is available at the Tillamook Creamery and also listed online for each ice cream flavor.

      • Does Tillamook make sugar-free or “no sugar added” ice cream?

        At this time, we don’t make any sugar-free or “no sugar added” ice cream flavors. We do, however, provide a “no sugar added” ice cream option at our Creamery in Tillamook, Oregon. We hope to see you soon for a scoop or two!

      • Does Tillamook make any dairy-free ice creams?

        Here at Tillamook, we do not make any dairy-free products. However, we do offer a fruit sorbet option at our ice cream counter at the Tillamook Creamery so that everyone can enjoy a delicious dessert! You can find our ice cream menu here.

      • Are the egg yolks in Tillamook Ice Cream pasteurized?

        Yes! The egg yolks in our ice cream are pasteurized to kill any harmful bacteria.

      • Is Tillamook Ice Cream kosher certified?

        Tillamook Ice Cream is not certified kosher though the majority of our flavors have kosher-friendly ingredients. You can find the ingredients for all of our flavors here or you can contact us with more specific questions.

        Tillamook Butter is kosher certified.

        Tillamook Yogurt and Tillamook Sour Cream are not certified kosher, but do have kosher-friendly ingredients.

    • Yogurt
      • Where can I find Tillamook Yogurt?

        Tillamook Yogurt is mostly available on the west coast, but we are always working on expanding! At the moment you can find our yogurt in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Utah, Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Hawaii, California, Alaska, Texas, and a few places in Louisiana! Feel free to use our Where to Buy tool to find it at a retailer near you.

      • Are your yogurts vegetarian-friendly?

        Yes! All of our yogurts are vegetarian-friendly. You can find the ingredients and nutritional information for all of our yogurts on our Yogurt product page on our website.

      • Does your yogurt contain live and active cultures?

        Definitely! The live and active cultures we use in Tillamook Good and Creamy Low Fat Yogurt are L. bulgaricus and S. thermophilus. The cultures in our Tillamook Farmstyle Greek Yogurt are S.Thermophilus. L. Bulgaricus, L.Acidophilus, B. Lactis, L.Casei, L.Rhamnosus, and L.Lactis. If you would like to see more nutritional information about our yogurt, please feel free to check the Yogurt product page on our website or contact us.

      • Can you freeze Tillamook Yogurt?

        You can safely freeze Tillamook Yogurt, but it may affect the flavor and texture once it is thawed. If you do decide to freeze our yogurt, we still recommend using it by the best by date printed on the package.

      • Is Tillamook Yogurt gluten-free?

        Yes, all Tillamook Yogurt is gluten-free.

        If you would like to see more nutritional information about our yogurt, please feel free to check the Yogurt product pages on our website or contact us.

      • I’m lactose intolerant. Do you have a yogurt I can eat?

        Good news! While we do not make any lactose-free products, Tillamook Farmstyle Greek Yogurt contains very little lactose. The traditional Greek straining process strains off most of the liquid whey in the yogurt, which also removes most of the lactose. Additionally, the live and active cultures found in our Farmstyle Greek Yogurt make it easier for your body to digest lactose.

        That being said, we don’t want to encourage you to eat anything your doctor has suggested you avoid! If you’re lactose intolerant and wondering if you can eat Tillamook Yogurt, it’s best to talk to your doctor.

      • Does Tillamook Yogurt have artificial flavors or colors?

        No way! Tillamook Yogurt does not contain artificial colors, sweeteners, or flavors. It’s also made with milk from cows not treated with artificial growth hormones.*

        *Please note that the FDA has stated that no significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rBST treated and non-rBST treated cows.

      • Is Tillamook Yogurt kosher certified?

        Tillamook Yogurt is not certified kosher though our yogurts do have kosher-friendly ingredients. You can find the ingredients for all of our flavors here or you can contact us with more specific questions.

        Tillamook Butter is kosher certified.

        Tillamook Sour Cream is not certified kosher, but does have kosher-friendly ingredients.

        Tillamook Ice Cream is not certified kosher, but many flavors do have kosher-friendly ingredients.

    • Sour Cream
      • Where can I find Tillamook Sour Cream?

        Right now, Tillamook Sour Cream is primarily available in the Pacific Northwest. But don’t worry, we are working on increasing our distribution so that everyone can enjoy real, simple Tillamook Sour Cream. To check if it is available in your area, please use our Where to Buy tool.

      • Can I eat Tillamook Sour Cream past the best by date?

        No. Tillamook Sour Cream is a perishable dairy product and we do not recommend eating it past the best by date printed on the container.

      • Does Tillamook Sour Cream have artificial flavor or colors?

        Of course not! With a natural flavor this delicious, Tillamook Sour Cream doesn’t need artificial colors or flavors. It’s also made with milk from cows not treated with artificial growth hormones.*

        *Please note that the FDA has stated that no significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rBST treated and non-rBST treated cows.

      • Is Tillamook Sour Cream kosher certified?

        Tillamook Sour Cream is not certified kosher though our yogurt does have kosher-friendly ingredients. You can find the ingredients for all of our flavors here or you can contact us with more specific questions.

        Tillamook Butter is kosher certified.

        Tillamook Yogurt is not certified kosher, but does have kosher-friendly ingredients.

        Tillamook Ice Cream is not certified kosher, but many flavors do have kosher-friendly ingredients

  • Miscellaneous Questions
    • Where are Tillamook products made?

      After more than 100 years and growing demand, we’re making more products than ever before where it all began, in Tillamook, Oregon. While there’s no limit to the ingenuity, hard work, and commitment of Tillamook’s people, there is a limit to our natural resources and production capacity. So, we do make some of our products outside of Tillamook, but we aren’t taking Tillamook out of any of our products. Our systems and standards don’t rely on where we are. They rely on who we are. We insist on working only with best-in-class partners including dairy farmers, production facilities and distribution centers.

      The majority of Tillamook Cheeses are made at our cheesemaking factories in Tillamook and Boardman, Oregon. A few of our specialty cheeses are made by industry partners outside of Oregon who have the appropriate equipment and expertise for those specific flavors.

      Much Tillamook Ice Cream is also made at our factory in Tillamook, Oregon. As we approach our production capacity there, we have added some ice cream production capacity with industry partners in other western states.

      Because of the specialty equipment required to make yogurt, sour cream and butter, we work with industry partners in Oregon and a few other western states to make each of these products.

      Whenever partners are involved, we work very closely with them to approve the recipes and specifications, and the recipes for Tillamook products remain the same no matter where the product is made. And, our Tillamook quality assurance and sensory teams taste and test every Tillamook product, ensuring all of our partners meet our exact quality requirements to make products with the high standards Tillamook fans have come to expect.

    • Can I order Tillamook products online?

      Yes! We have an online shop and are able to ship Tillamook Cheese directly to you from our Creamery. Take a look on the Tillamook Online Shop.

      Please note that we are only able to process orders for Tillamook Cheese (and not our ice cream, yogurt, sour cream, or butter) at this time. You can also order our famous cheese curds from our online store and have them sent right to your doorstep! Shop Tillamook Cheese to your heart’s content on the Tillamook Online Shop.

    • What does the code date mean on Tillamook products?

      The code date is a “best by” date that reflects the freshness and quality of the product. It’s best to use the product before the code date on the package. As always, use your best judgment – if a dairy product doesn’t look, smell or taste quite right, it’s best to throw it out.

    • I’m a student doing research. Can I get information about your company?

      Our website is a great resource for information about our products, history and evolution as a company. If you don’t see everything you’re looking for on our website, please send additional questions to us through our Contact Us page. We’ll do our very best to answer them for you without compromising internal proprietary information. Thanks for thinking of Tillamook as a subject for your research project!

    • How can I serve Tillamook at my restaurant or store?

      Thanks for your interest in carrying Tillamook at your restaurant or store! We sell all of our products through brokers. You can find a list of products and foodservice brokers on our Food Service page. If you have any questions or need help, please visit our Contact Us page to tell us more about you (where you live, what products you’d like to carry, etc.). We’ll be happy to connect you with a broker in your area.

    • Will Tillamook donate to my organization or sponsor my event?

      Thanks for thinking of us! As I’m sure you can understand, we receive hundreds of donation requests throughout the year. We ask that you fill out our Donation form on our website for our Donations team to review. For any questions or concerns, our Consumer Relations team would be happy to help.

    • Does Tillamook make Bandon Cheese?

      Yes, we do! The Tillamook County Creamery Association has owned Bandon Cheese and the Bandon Cheese brand since 2000. Here’s a little more history on our relationship with Bandon if you’re interested…

      After the Coquille Valley Farmers Co-op became insolvent in 1986, a series of owners struggled to profitably operate the Bandon Cheese plant and store. At the request of Bandon’s owners at the time, Tillamook purchased Bandon Cheese in 2000. When we were approached to purchase the Bandon brand and factory, we believed that buying it would ensure its longevity and maintain the Oregon heritage Bandon shares with Tillamook.

      As we began operating in Bandon, we ultimately determined that milk supply was unfortunately not available locally in the volume or at the quality we desired, and the physical production facility itself was significantly below our standards for creating a consistent product. Our first step to ensure we could continue to produce Bandon Cheese safely and with the quality standards we require was to move production of Bandon Cheese to our Tillamook facility, which we did successfully. We continued to operate the visitor’s retail store in Bandon for several years, despite declining sales, until late 2005, when dangers from the deteriorating building forced us to close it down. After leasing the property for many years, in 2011, the City of Bandon purchased from TCCA the property where the Bandon factory once stood.

      Tillamook is proud to continue to honor the Bandon Cheese heritage today, by making Bandon Cheddar and Bandon Monterey Jack cheeses, which are currently sold at retailers throughout Oregon, Washington, Arizona, Idaho, Utah and northern California. Consumers across the Northwest and beyond are loyal purchasers of the Bandon-brand.

    • Is Tillamook on any social networking websites?

      We sure are! Join our cheesy conversations on:
      Facebook
      Twitter
      Pinterest
      Youtube
      Instagram
      You can also come visit us on the Tillamook Blog

    • What’s the best way to contact a Tillamook Cheese representative?

      Have a question, suggestion, or compliment? We’d love to hear from you! Please visit our Contact Us page to get in touch with our team.

DON'T SEE YOUR QUESTION?

We're happy to help! Head on over to our Contact Us page.

Contact Us
Find Tillamook in your neck of the woods.